HIV Stages of infection

STAGES OF HIV-1 INFECTION — HIV-1 infection is divided into the following stages:


  • Viral transmission
  • Primary HIV infection (also called acute HIV infection or acute seroconversion syndrome)
  • Seroconversion
  • Clinical latent period with or without persistent generalized lymphadenopathy (PGL)
  • Early symptomatic HIV infection (previously known as “AIDS-related complex” or ARC and more recently referred to as Class B according to the 1993 CDC classification)
  • AIDS (AIDS indicator condition according to the 1987 CDC criteria and revised 1993 CDC criteria that include a CD4 cell count below 200/mm3 regardless of the presence or absence of symptoms)
  • Advanced HIV infection characterized by a CD4 cell count below 50/mm3

(Back to HIV from Stages of HIV)


Source: <>